Winter Cleaning

So everyone knows about spring cleaning and the idea that you cast open the windows and doors after a long cold winter and let in fresh air.  It makes sense.  You’ve been locked inside your home for the entire winter, mud and dirt tracked in on the shoes, dust settling without a good breeze from an open window to blow it around and out.  Everyone’s tempers are a bit frayed because nobody wants to go outside to play in the cold for long periods of time, and travel is more difficult if not impossible.  Spring cleaning allows you to brush all that out of the house and start the new year fresh.

I don’t do spring cleaning.  I usually have too much to do during the spring months and the winter blues are still hanging on strong enough that cleaning is the last thing I want to do.

I do winter cleaning.  Right after that first fall of snow, when it’s clear that we are once again going to be plunged into the darkest and coldest time of year, I spend some quality time cleaning.  It’s usually not the whole house.  It’s usually just a few things at a time.  Really scrubbing down the bathrooms or the kitchen, making sure all my piles are sorted and put away.

This year my winter cleaning started with organizing my beads.  What beads, you ask?  Long before I started this comic I started my obsession with beads.  Jewelry-making is my favorite hobby.  Beadweaving my addiction of choice.  I make beauty to remind myself that the darkness I see all around me isn’t the only thing left to see.  Human beings are marvelous creatures that have the ability to make some of the most stunning pieces of art.  I love beads, and organizing them brings me peace.

Yeah, I know, I’m one of the weird ones who enjoys organizing things.

I have finally gotten my stock of beads organized pretty much how I want them.  There will be a few tweaks here and there, and I’m still waiting on shelving to hold it all instead of stacking the trays on the floor, but I have all the trays I need to store the beads I have!  It’s been years in the making for many reasons.  Finding the perfect tray is one, and being able to afford enough of them to store all my beads is another.  I am super excited to say I am happy with the way I have organized my beads now.

Now I just have to sell my old trays and I’ll have… room for more beads no doubt.  (Can you ever have enough?)  So my winter cleaning has actually done me some good in that I have completed a nearly decade long project.  It feels good.

But I’m not done!  Oh no.  My next winter cleaning project is to clear out all my piles and put them away.  We moved into this condo over a year ago.  It’s time to make it feel like home.

Once spring comes around I’ll no doubt avoid the spring cleaning like I do every year, but at least my winter cleaning will have made a dent in my giant list of things to do.

So what about you?  Do you ever do a big cleaning?  Is it a spring cleaning?  Does the season not really matter?  Is there any projects that you have taken years to finish?  I can’t be the only one.

For those of you interested in my jewelry, you can find me at The Jeweled Heron, my store, or on Facebook, and tumblr.  This comic shares a deviantart page and a twitter profile with my jewelry so you can see many of my things there.

Leave a Reply

