Midwinter 2017

I spent the weekend at the Midwinter Gaming Convention in Milwaukee.  Let me see if I can fully express how I feel about it.

excited-gif6

Hm.  The Doctor is cute, but not nearly excited enough.  The quality of LARP that I got to experience this weekend deserves much more than cute.  I played Tron and A Series of Hauntings this weekend and I have to tell you, both LARPs brought something different to the table.  Tron allowed me to play Alexa, the overly helpful program with minimal access to the forbidden ‘Users’, and A Series of Hauntings was emotionally intense, ridiculously dark and ultimately very satisfying.

The Dystopia Rising mod we ran on Saturday afternoon was fun, and I didn’t even get to play! (I ran the Logistics table, as you do when you are Coordinating Director.) Just watching the players as they left and listening to their excited comments was worth it.  We had 61 players total at the game and 24 of them were new!  I’ve already got emails from the new players who want to come to game.  It is all the little things that make this gamer girl happy.

Let’s not forget the Tabletop events too! I got to play 7th Seas tabletop with John Wick himself!  The new rule set makes playing a lot more fun.  Ussura is still my favorite country!

tenor

There we go.   Thank you Jack, you hit the nail on the head.  I was delighted to be able to hang out with friends I don’t normally get to hang out with and even swing through the vendor room to do some geeky shopping.

Sunday VIP brunch was delicious, and allowed for even more great conversations with good company.

TOTALLY WORTH IT.

I am looking forward to next years Midwinter!

YAY!

 

Leave a Reply

